Memories of Mary and the day the gypsies came to town

A Whimsical Nana

Image

I was a 5 generation baby as were my daughters and grandchildren.  Having elderly people in my life was the norm and it wasn’t until I became a parent that this generational gift was fully appreciated.  One of my greatest blessings was my Aunt Mary.  A constant figure in my life, and now in my memories.  It wasn’t until I was a teenager that I saw with clarity what a gem she really was. You see, Aunt Mary was my great, great, aunt.  Far enough from my bloodline to be just a face with a name in some families but more like a bonus grandma for me.

I asked my mother once how it was that our family was closer to Aunt Mary than the other branches of relatives were.  “Aunt Mary was a safe haven for your father when he was growing up and they have always had a…

View original post 3,015 more words

One thought on “Memories of Mary and the day the gypsies came to town

  1. Pingback: Memories of Mary and the day the gypsies came to town | A Whimsical Nana

Leave a Reply

