Dust Bunnies

Housework…the chore every person who hasn’t been born with a silver spoon attached to them has to deal with. Something dirty, dusty, stinky or disgusting is in, on or around our households. I generally can get through my tasks without much difficulty or displeasure but it is the dust that frustrates me. I cannot vacuum it up like the crumbs on the floor or push a button and make it disappear like the dried on food on the dishes in the dishwasher. Instead, I CHASE IT! Someone on a different planet coined the phrase “dust bunnies.” Well I am here to tell you…MY DUST DOES NOT HOP! I believe that the dust that lives in my home is a cross between a gazelle and a hummingbird. As I chase the dust around me it seems to move at a tremendous speed and if I do catch it, it sprouts wings and flies. The last I knew bunnies don’t fly either. Some days I convince myself that I am “a one with Nature” kind of girl and decide to live in harmony with these dust creatures. This is all fine and dandy until I hear my mother’s voice inside of my head. At the age of 58 I can still be shaken by the thought, “what would the neighbors think?” I was raised to believe that dust bunnies, dirty windows and wrinkled clothing were a sign that a woman was not doing her job in the home. Times have changed and my mother has let go of a few of these notions but the damage is done….she has impregnated my mind with this 1950’s notion that dust bunnies somehow reflect on me. But for now, just for today I have decided to hold an OPEN HOUSE for ALL dust creatures and their kin. Let them come and bask in my hospitality, for tomorrow I shall attack them with vigor only to realize they apparently have the keys to my home.WP_20151124_13_12_21_Pro

Leave a Reply

